The Pastoral System

The Pastoral System

At Da Vinci Academy, we aim to nurture the students in our care and help them achieve their full potential. To facilitate this, our pastoral team (Achievement Team) consists of an Assistant Achievement Leader for each year group and an Achievement Leader for the following year groups:

  • Year 7
  • Year 8 and 9
  • Year 10 and 11

In addition to the student’s tutor, the team work tirelessly to support the learning and ultimate progress of every student.

Every student is also placed in one of four houses:

  • Abbey
  • Breadsall
  • Darley
  • Hastings

Assemblies take place on a weekly basis and students take part in numerous activities where they can achieve A-points for their house. Healthy competition, leadership skills and team building skills are nurtured throughout the house system. Each house also takes part in regular competitions and, at the end of the academy year, one house is crowned overall winner.

The tutor programme aims to develop a culture of kindness through our character sessions and clear post 16 pathways are development through our culture (CEIAG) programme. Students develop key knowledge and understanding with their tutor surrounding news events, organisation and responsibility through our 3 R’s Ready, Respectful and Responsible.

Overview of staff roles within the team

Deputy Headteacher (Achievement and Behaviour): Mrs Culverwell

Assistant Headteacher (Behaviour and Attitudes): Mr Wall

Achievement Leaders:

Achievement leader Year 10 and Year 11: Miss Bradshaw

Assistant Achievement Leader Year 11: Miss Whitfield

Assistant Achievement Leader Year 10: Mrs Lockton

Achievement Leader Year 8 and Year 9: Mr Thompson

Assistant Achievement Leader Year 9: Miss Burton

Assistant Achievement Leader Year 8: Miss Russell (Maternity) Miss Whitby

Achievement Leader Year 7/Transition: Miss Quinn

Assistant Achievement Leader Year 7: Miss Wilmot

Success Centre

Mr Needham

Mrs Laywood

Key Roles

Designated Safeguarding Lead: Mr Mather

Designated Safeguarding Lead: Miss Bradshaw

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead: Ms Thompson

Assistant Headteacher SENCO: Mrs Mckenzie

Operational SENCO: Mrs Sisson

Attendance Officer: Mrs Wragg

First Aid: Reception